Being a stay at home wife

Hi All! Sorry that I haven’t posted in a while, I’ve not felt inspired!

So in this post I wanted to talk about what it’s like being a stay at home wife, with no kids! Yes it is a real thing and yes that is currently what I am, except I hate using the word Housewife, it sounds so… wrong for the modern world!

Sounds like heaven though dosent it? You can wake up whenever you want, set your own hours and do as much or little as you want to do. In all honestly the first few months are great, especially after quitting a mentally draining job.

However, I find that after a while you disconnect from the world, you have all this free time but your friends and family don’t, the dream world of married woman all meeting for lunch every day isn’t a reality, at least not where I am from.

So how do you keep your brain from shutting down, after all you want to keep your energy and motivation incase you go back to work or have your own children.
For me it took me a good 6 months of being miserable and bored before I decided to make a change, I go to the point that all I did was clean and wait for my husband to come home, that is not living.

I already had an interest in YouTube so I have upped my game with it, though I don’t seem to be gaining subscribers, I am creating more content and thinking of more cool ideas of things to do, it does wonders for getting my brain cogs moving and also for my confidence.

I’m trying to apply myself to things that I need to get done, for example, I’ve put off driving for 4 years, so for the last few days I have been practicing theory tests and will do until I get full marks and then I shall book the test and start driving. I also have been reading Jane Eyre as I will be studying it in my part time course in September, so why not get ahead.

I’ve gone to the doctors and expressed my concerns for my mental health and along side their ‘half assed’ support, I have taken things into my own hands and tried to get out my comfort zone, saying yest to more things and making an effort with friends, like talking to people that I have drifted from.

I really feel that having all this free time is a gift, so long as we use it wisely! Think of all those things you said you would do if you had more time and do them.

C xx

Leave a Reply

